My First Year at Walden

June 6, 2013

(written by a third grader who moved from Pittsburgh to Pasadena this year)

I walked through the gate on my first day and looked around.  Kids were playing, parents were talking in the south yard and teachers were putting up signs that said where to line up. I saw some friends from summer camp and that made me feel better.  It was my first day as a third grader at Walden.  Earlier in the summer, I had moved from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.  I had visited Walden once before and really liked it.  Now, I was going to be part of this community.

The school year is almost over and I look back at all of the things we’ve done.  One of my favorite things this year was getting to garden. This was new to me and not something that my old school in Pennsylvania did.  I’m very proud of our class’ GIANT zucchini.  I also really enjoyed our chickens and checking every day to see which ones laid eggs. 

I’ve made lots of great new friends this year.  It’s hard at first to be the new kid.  But, everyone at Walden welcomed me.  I liked my teachers right away and I knew it was going to be a good year.  I’m really looking forward to 4th grade because I can’t wait to go on the Ponderer’s camping trip with all my friends.

Leave a Comment

